Let’s have a Musical Time!

Hi everyone,

It has been almost two weeks that I posted an art journal page and I was really missing the game. I decided it was time to make a new one and started searching for a theme. I couldn’t think of any personalized one so I dove into the challenges blogs. This particular layout is inspired by many such challenges.

First and foremost, I liked the theme “Music” by ‘Addicted to CAS’ and “Time” by ‘Crafty card makers’ challenge blogs. How does time seem to pleasantly evaporate when your favorite music is playing in the background! I personally have different preferences of the type of music to listen to at different times of the day. And the most beloved of those is the night time when I like to listen to soft and silent songs (specially old classics) in the dim light of night lamp. It creates a soothing atmosphere. And when I get the glimpses of moon in my window then oh, that feels simply fabulous! I was instantly inspired to make a page that incorporats the correlation between music and time.

“Art is how we decorate space. Music is how we decorate time.”

This quote striked me to be the most relevant here. The clock decorated with musical note would be apt to depict this.

I had made a background with book pages and music notes earlier this month. But I never made any foreground on it and thus it was readily available for this music theme. I colored it in two different acrylic colors. I used hot pink since music is the thing we all love and adore. Copper gave an old fashioned feel depicting the time. Plus they looked nice in combination without any need of other colors. Of course I used black and white to blend them in together. Other background patterns were added using numbers/letters stencil and a pattern stencil. The pattern stencil is made by me by tracing the pattern onto a transperant plastic and then cutting the shapes using a paper knife. I didn’t want the background patterns to pop up much. That’s why I have used the same color palette for stenciling as well.

P_20160820_013045_1_p_1p.jpg

In addition, for the ‘Addicted to CAS’ challenge, I must make it clean and simple. Thus I decided to consider the sketch from ‘Card challenges’ as well. My musical clock along with the handwritten quote represent the shapes from the sketch. To keep it simple, I have used only the relevant part of the quote here. The rim of the clock is made of patterned paper and the triangular stickers I had in my stash turned out to be useful as the border for the quote. I have drawn the music note, the numbers on clock and the clock hands too. P_20160820_013109_1_p.jpg

Finally some white dots using a comb and some highlights with white gel pen gave the page a complete look.

P_20160820_013737_1_p_1.jpg

I tried many unconventional techniques to create background for this page and it was a fun learning experience. Except from the focal points, nothing was decided upfront. I kept adding and integrating everything trying to blend them well so that the page looks colorful but simple. Of course, true to the theme, I worked on this while listening to my favorite songs which added to my bliss! I hope you enjoyed it too and got some new ideas of your own. I would love to hear them out. See you next time. Till then, I hope you can escape into such musical time too!

Always looking forward to inspirations,

Asawari


I am entering this layout for:

  1. MFT card challenges: Sketch 294
  2. Addicted to CAS challenge #94: “Music”
  3. Crafty cardmakers challenge #170: “Time”
  4. Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper August 2016 challenge
  5. Avenue613 challenge #188: “Anything Goes”
  6. Crafty Boots challenge “Anything but a card”
  7. The Crafty Addicts challenge #22: “Anything Goes/Use Diecuts”
  8. Word Art Wednesday challenge weeks #244-245: “Anything Goes”
  9. Inkspirational Challenge #115: “Patterned Paper”

 

13 thoughts on “Let’s have a Musical Time!

  1. A wonderful art journal page. I love the colours you have used and your sentiment is the perfect finishing touch. Thanks for joining us over at Crafty Cardmakers. Sally.x.

    Like

Leave a Reply

